• Green News
  • Western Cape declares five new Provincial Heritage Sites

Western Cape declares five new Provincial Heritage Sites


Protecting sites of cultural and historical significance.

Heritage Western Cape Council approved the classification of five new sites Provincial Heritage Sites (PHS) in the province as part of Heritage Month (September) in South Africa.

The 5 newly declared Provincial Heritage Sites 

Provincial Heritage Sites, Guguletu Seven Guguletu Seven Memorial

– The Blaauwberg Nature Reserve, Blaauwberg (lead photo above)

– The Freedom Square in Bonteheuwel, Cape Town

– The Gugulethu 7 Memorial in Gugulethu, Cape Town

– The Langa Pass Office in Langa, Cape Town (photo below)

– Princess Vlei in Retreat, Cape Town

All these sites have special qualities which make them significant within the Western Cape Province. These sites connect closely to events and figures of provincial significance and enrich the understanding of the cultural, historical and social development of the Western Cape, and South Africa.

Once a site is declared a Provincial Heritage Site, it enjoys the highest level of protection in terms of the National Heritage Resources Act 25 of 1999.

]Provincial Heritage Sites, Langa Pass Office Museum Langa Pass Office Museum

Anroux Marais, Western Cape Minister of Cultural Affairs and Sport, emphasized the importance of protecting sites that hold cultural and historical significance.

“These sites have a rich history to the province but also to the communities in which they are situated. In many instances, the sites hold narratives highlighting the resilient spirit of the people of our country. It is of utmost importance that we continue to protect these sites and that communities look after the sites to preserve them for generations to come.”

Plaques or notice boards indicating the PHS status will be unveiled at the various sites in due course.

See also MapMyWay

And: Conservation and Heritage Lovers Tour of Sustainable Vineyards in and around Cape Town